Sunday, November 6, 2016


Indian Women's hockey team have lifted the Asian Champions Trophy 2016 in Singapore. In a thrilling summit clash, India defeated China 2-1. The first goal for India was scored by Deep Grace Ekka in the 13th minute which was equalised by Zhong Mengling in the 44th minute. In the dying minutes of the game, the second goal came from Deepika Thakur to give the Indian eves the formidable lead and the crown. 

This is for the first time that Indian eves won the Asian Champions Trophy competition. Top five women's teams of Asia took part in this tournament. This was also the qualifying round for the 2017 Asia Cup.

It comes as a double delight for Indian hockey, as earlier the men's team had conquered Asian Champions Trophy last week. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated the Indian women's hockey team for winning the Asian Champions Trophy 2016. In a tweet, Mr Modi said, it is a great moment for Indian hockey.
Minister of State (I/C) for youth Affairs and Sports shri Vijay Goel has congratulated the Indian Women Hockey team for winning the Asian Champions Trophy for the first time.

In a message he said the joyous moment of glory is more enjoyable as it came soon after Indian Men beat Pakistan to lift the Asian Champions Trophy in Malaysia.

Shri Vijay Goel said the best finish both by Women and Men team in Hockey in recent times reflects the hard work, dedication, discipline and determination of our players to succeed at the International Sporting arena. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Present THE AMBASSADOR SERIES  ON  JUNE 21, 2018  BY  NARESH SAGAR LEAVE A COMMENT EDIT Ambassadors of Nordic Countries on India – N...